Nigerians are watching as you and I navigate the vehicle, Tinubu tells ministers

IMG 0361

President Bola Tinubu, Monday, worn-in 45 ministers and tasked them to deliver in their responsibilities saying he and them are in a vehicle where he is the driver and the entire Nigerians are watching as they navigate the economy.

The Senate, in line with the constitutional obligations of Nigeria, has on Monday August 7, 2023 screened and confirmed 45 ministers who will superintend over the ministries of Federal Government in President Tinunu’s administration of ‘renewed hope.’

The President who wished the ministers success in “this new assignment,” said, ” We are on this boat even if it is a vehicle and I am the driver the entire Nigerians are behind sitting and watching as you and I navigate this vehicle.”

Tinubu gave the charge while inaugurating the new cabinet members at the Conference Centre of the State House, at the Aso Rock Abuja.

He said the Your highest obligation of the ministers is to retire public faith in government so that Nigerians can once again believe that the right hands in government can show.

According to him, I believe in you that the government can be a positive force for transformation and a vehicle for collective progress of this country.

“The challenges we face today are very daunting yes, there are yet amidst this evident challenge, we have the opportunity to implement long overdue reforms that will improve the operation of government, transform our nation’s economy and ensure peace, safety and prosperity for our people.

“The men and women who have been sworn-in have been carefully selected by me for their track record of excellence and achievement in public and private sector.

Also Read:  Political jobbers responsible for crisis between me and Obaseki – Shaibu

“They reflected in diversity of Nigeria and bring to their new role an assortment of experience and expertise to help guide the nation’s affairs and also continue to rebuild the nation and re-engineer all our finances and defects, building blocks of Nigeria today and the future.

“As I said earlier on, you are not a minister of a particular state, colonies, region or ethnic nationality, you are a Minister of Federal Republic of Nigeria. God be with you and God bless the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

“These are the objectives that underpin the renewed hope agenda. And these are the objectives that inspired the selection of a lot of these distinguished ladies and gentlemen ministers,” the President explained.

Tinubu pointed out that, “Ministers of the federal republic you are, not minister of a region or Minister of a particular state.”

He noted that since his inauguration on May 29, he had taken steps to begin implementing the agenda from which he campaigned and for which he received the mandate of Nigerian people.

“With the inauguration of ministers today, we are about to accelerate our governing efforts to move forward, highlighting our best aspiration for Nigerians. It is all about a great team. And I believe we have them here.

“It is the highest honour to be chosen to serve as the minister in the Federal Executive Council of our beloved Republic. With such high honour comes tremendous responsibility. In this moment of abundant promise and fail in equal measure.

“All of you who have been sworn in I’ve been called to distinguish yourselves. It is me who knows you. I delegate this authority but the greatest number of Nigerians are highly expecting delivery and accountability and transparency,” the President explained.

Also Read:  Ilorin West/Asa: PDP candidate, Ajia unveils covenant with constituents, tagged ‘My offer to serve’

Timubu told the new cabinet members that he expects that they will serve with integrity, dignity and deliver, vowing, “I will hold you to that standard we all promised Nigerians.”

The President said, their assignment begins immediately, as their country honours them today, by this call to service, they must each work to make themselves “worthy in the eyes of God and all our nation’s people.”

While charging them to hold each other responsible, the President said, “we have to do the job to meet the expectations of all Nigerians,” congratulating and welcoming them to the ‘administration of renewed hope.’

The Vice President Kashim Shettima, Senate President Godswill Akpabio, Speaker of the House Representatives, Tajudeen Abass, Secretary to the Government of the Federation, George Akume and Chairman of the Nigeria Governors Forum and Kwara State Governor, Abdulaziz Abdulrahman were also in attendance.

The President inaugurated the ministers five in a batch at the Aso Rock, Abuja.

First batch to comprised the Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice, Lateef Fagbemi, Minister of State for Labour and Employment, Nkiruka Onyejeocha, Minister of State Gas in the Ministry of Petroleum Resources, Ekperikpe Ekpo, Minister of Women Affairs, Uju Kennedy, and Minister of Education Tahir Maman.

While the second batch were Coordinating Minister of Health and Social Welfare, Ali Pate, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Yusuf Tuggar, Minister of State (Oil), Ministry of Petroleum Resources, Heineken Lokpobiri, Minister of Water Resources and Sanitation, Joseph Utsev, and Minister of Agriculture and Food Security, Abubakar Kyari.

Also Read:  Salute To A Bridge Builder, Peace Maker With Unflinching Love For State

The third batch of ministers to be sworn-in Minister of Humanitarian Affairs and Poverty Alleviation, Betta Edu, Minister of Sports Development, John Enoh, Minister of Aviation and Aerospace Development, Festus Keyamo, Minister of Works, Dave Umahi, and Minister of Niger Delta Development, Abubakar Momoh.

The fourth batch of ministers to be sworn-in Minister of Solid Minerals Development, Dele Alake, Minister of Innovation Science and Technology, Uche Nnaji, Minister of Transportation, Alkali Sa’id, Minister of Industry, Trade and Investment, Doris Anite, and Minister of Defence, Mohammed Badaru.

The fifth batch of ministers to be sworn-in Minister of State Housing and Urban Development, Abdullahi Gwarzo, Minister of State, Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Mariya Mahmud, Minister of Housing and Urban development, Ahmed Dangiwa, Minister of Art, Culture and Creative Economy, Hannatu Musawa, and Minister of Budget and Economic Planning, Atiku Bagudu.

The sixth batch of ministers to be sworn-in are Minister of State Education, Yusuf Sunumu, Minister of Steel Development, Shuaibu Audu, Minister of State for Health and Social Welfare, Tunji Alausa, Minister of Tourism, Lola Ade-John, and Minister of State Police Affairs, Imaan Sulaiman- Ibrahim.

The seventh batch of ministers to be sworn-in are Minister of Agriculture and Food Security, Aliyu Sabi Abdullahi, Minister of Information and National Orientation, Muhammed Idris, Minister of State Environment, Ishak Salako, Minister of Finance and Coordinating Minister of the Economy, Wale Edun, and Minister of Communications, Innovation and Digital Economy, Bosun Tijani. (Nigerian Pilot)

Accurate News Nigeria chat

Suspended Adamawa REC Petitions NBA Over Planned Disciplinary Action

Previous article

Women groups set to protest against Akpabio, demand his resignation or be sacked

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Politics