APC Wins All Chairmanship Seats In Ekiti LG Elections

IMG 2831

Candidates of the ruling All Progressives Congress won all 38 chairmanship and 177 councillorship seats in Saturday’s council elections in Ekiti.

The Ekiti State Independent Electoral Commission made the declaration at Ado-Ekiti on Sunday.

Returning Officers in the local government areas and in the local council development areas took turns presenting the results of the various council areas at the headquarters of EKSIEC.

Also Read:  Buhari Congratulates Adeleke, says Osun have expressed their will

EKSIEC Chairman, retired Justice Cornelius Akintayo, applauded the electorate in Ekiti for the peaceful conduct of the election.

He also commended parties that took part in the election for their sportsmanship; EKSIEC staff who worked on the field; security agents and the media for a job well done.

Also Read:  Your govt brought reversal of fortune to Nigerians - PDP tells President Buhari

Akintayo listed political parties that participated in the election as Action Alliance (AA), Action Democratic Congress (ADC), African Democratic Party (ADP), and the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Others, he said, were the Labour Party (LP), the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP), the Peoples Redemption Party (PRP), and the Zenith Labour Party ZLP.

Also Read:  Why govs are always after their deputies – Sen Ekpenyong, ex-dep gov

EKSIEC commissioners and principal officers joined Akintayo at the presentation of the election results.

Prominent opposition parties like the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and the Social Democratic Party (SDP) had earlier declared their disinterest in the council elections. (NAN)

Accurate News Nigeria chat

‘Waste Of Resources Amid Hardship’, Obi Faults Number Of Nigeria’s Delegates At COP28

Previous article

Insecurity: Akwa Ibom Hires 500 Persons For Community Policing

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Politics