INEC Declares Douye Diri of PDP Winner of Bayelsa Governorship Election

IMG 2384

More than 48 hours after the Bayelsa governorship election, Governor Douye Diri has clinched a second term in office as the leader of the coastal state. 

“That Diri Douye of the PDP, having satisfied the requirements of the law, is hereby declared the winner and is returned elected,” the Returning Officer for the election Prof Faruq Kuta said in declaring Diri the winner of the exercise after multiple breaks and adjournments.

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate fought off his All Progressives Congress (APC) counterpart Timipre Sylva in a fiercely contested exercise in the oil-rich state.

Diri, who came into power in 2020, got a total of  175,196 votes while Sylva polled 110,108 votes. The figures meant the PDP flagbearer beat his closest rival by  65,088 votes. The Labour Party (LP) scored a total of 905 votes to come a distant third.

Also Read:  Court sacks APC exco in Bayelsa, nullify ward, state congresses

INEC has declared Governor Douye Diri as the winner of the Bayelsa State Governorship Election, defeating his closest rival and a former Minister of State for Petroleum Resources Timipre Sylva of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

While 18 candidates vied for the post, Sylva was Diri’s main contender. The immediate past Minister of State for Petroleum was contesting to return as the governor of the South-South state for a third time.

He first became a governor from May 2007 to April 2008 before returning as the leader of the state between May 2008 and January 2012.

Also Read:  Ilorin Presidential Rally, Sign Of APC Victory In 2023 - Kwara Governor

But his third attempt to become the governor of Bayelsa State was a bumpy ride. About one month before the election, the Federal High Court in Abuja disqualified him from the contest.

According to Justice Okorowo, since Sylva has served twice and five years as governor of the state, he would breach the 1999 constitution as amended if allowed to contest again. He ruled that if the APC candidate wins and is sworn in, he would spend more than eight years in office as governor of the state.

In the wake of the ruling, INEC delisted him as a contestant for the exercise. But APC and Sylva challenged the judgement with the Appeal Court on October 31, 2023, later reversing Sylva’s disqualification.

Also Read:  Hakeem Lawal task Kwara Youths to take charge of polity

The 2023 election, however, ended in defeat for Sylva.

As INEC began collation of results for the poll, PDP chieftains were in Yenegoa to drum up support for Diri’s re-election.

Some of them include Governor Sheriff Oborevwori of Delta State, his Taraba State counterpart Agbu Kefas, and Senator Ben Murray-Bruce; a former National Chairman of the party Uche Secondus among PDP top shots.

In his speech after winning the election, Governor Diri thanked God and the residents of the state for the victory. He promised an all-inclusive government. (Channels)

Accurate News Nigeria chat

WAEC Announces Computer-Based Exams For Private Candidates

Previous article

Shock as Saudi Arabia cancels visa on arrival for 264 Nigerians

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Politics