Lagos State Govt begins collection of entries for teachers’ merit awards

53E504ED 0C60 4941 8359 FA786CE8B316
53E504ED 0C60 4941 8359 FA786CE8B316

By Admin

The Lagos State Ministry of Education has called on teachers and administrators in its public schools to apply for the 2020 edition of the Lagos State Teachers Merit Awards which would reward the winners with cars and other mouthwatering prizes.

Teachers can submit entries for the awards on which opened on Monday 4th of January, 2021.

As a departure from the norm, this year’s winners will be selected by a group of mostly private-sector educationists constituted by the Education Commissioner, Mrs. Folasade Adefisayo.

The committee chaired by the founder of highflying Greensprings School, Mrs. Lai Koiki, has CEO Edumark Consult, Mrs. Yinka Ogunde; administrator, Vivian Fowler Memorial College for Girls, Mrs. Funke Amba; Director, The Foreshore School, Ms. Oyindamola Egbeyemi; CEO, Workforce Group, Mr. Bolaji Olagunju; retired Director of Education, District IV, Mrs. Sherifat Ogboye; Director, Arc-Lights Foundation for Education, Mrs. Abisola Obasanya; and Regional Manager, Public Sector, Ecobank Plc, Mr. Adebisi Adetutu as members.

Also Read:  Lagos releases guidelines on abortion

Announcing the criteria for selection at a briefing held at the Lagos State Ministry of Education, Mrs. Koiki said the applicants must show “evidence of outstanding leadership or contribution in improving teaching and learning; evidence of positive holistic impact on students’ learning beyond classroom protocol; evidence of community impact and involvement through their work; evidence of innovation and evidence of efficiency and effectiveness.”

Also Read:  KWSG to Sponsor 3 to Intra-Africa Trade Fair, Calls for Applications via Business Ideas

She said the teachers would be rewarded under seven categories – best teacher (primary school); best teacher (junior secondary school); best teacher (senior secondary school); best head teacher (primary school); best principal (junior secondary school); best principal (senior secondary school); best principal (senior secondary school).

Also Read:  RE:YPP: Charles Afolayan should stop playing politics with the truth

Mrs. Koiki said all teachers and administrators in the public school system were eligible as long as they possessed TRCN number.

After the close of entries on January 25, 2020, Mrs. Koiki said the selection committee would shortlist the best for a second stage of applications from which 30 finalists would emerge.

The 30 finalists would be invited to a retreat from which 20 winners would emerge.

Accurate News Nigeria chat

Former Vice President, Atiku Abubakar sold shares at Intels, Says Buhari Govt is destroying legitimate businesses

Previous article

DG Lands to take new office, not sacked Says Kwara Govt

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Education