PDP strategise to reunite Atiku with G-5 governors

3FE362C8 C5DB 442B 9358 A8F3F70ACB0D

Governor in the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) have initiated moves to reconcile their presidential candidate Atiku Abubakar, with the aggrieved G-5 governors led by Nyesome Wike of Rivers State.

PDP Governors Forum have concluded plans to bring Atiku and the governors under the same roof for the first time since they parted ways before the general election.

The G-5 governors had called for the resignation of the suspended, party’s national Chairman, Dr Iyorchia Ayu.

They had contended that it was unfair to the South for the presidential candidate and the party’s national Chairman to come from the same regional bloc.

Also Read:  2023 Election: Top opposition candidate Yakubu Gobir steps down for Gov. AbdulRazaq in Kwara

Both camps remained at loggerheads until the polls, which former Vice President Atiku lost, while Rivers State Governor, Nyesom Wike continued to push for power to return to the South.

The Director General of the PDP Governors Forum, Cyril Maduabum said the event will serve as an opportunity for PDP leaders, stakeholders and members to come together for the first time after the general election.

Also Read:  I’m Now APC Leader in Zamfara – Gov Matawalle

The G-5 governors listed to attend the reunion scheduled to take place in Abuja include Nyesome Wike of Rivers, Seyi Makinde of Oyo, Samuel Ortom of Benue, Dr Okezie Ikpeazu of Abia and Chief Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi of Enugu.

Others are Udom Emmanuel of Akwa Ibom, Dr Ifeanyi Okowa of Delta, Darius Ishaku of Taraba, Bala Mohammed of Bauchi and Ahmadu Fintiri of Adamawa.

PDP Governors-elect expected at the event are Umo Bassey Eno of Akwa Ibom, Peter Mbah of Enugu, Agbu Kefas (Taraba), Siminalayi Fubara (Rivers), Sheriff Oborevwori (Delta), Dauda Lawal (Zamfara) and Caleb Mutfwang (Plateau).

Also Read:  2023: Don’t Complain Of Bad Governance If You Don’t Have PVCs- Group Tells Nigerians

“This event will feature a discussion on ‘good governance at the sub-national level: issues, perspectives, expectations and outcomes’, which will lay out the challenges facing governance at the sub-national level and possible solutions”, the statement reads.

Past chairmen of the forum to be honoured are Olusegun Mimiko (Ondo), Ayo Fayose (Ekiti), Ibrahim Dankwabo (Gombe) and Seriake Dickson (Bayelsa). (RN)

Accurate News Nigeria chat

Sudan: JAMB pledges support for evacuated students

Previous article

42.5m will need emergency food from June – ECOWAS

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Politics