Unilorin Unveils 48 New Professors, See List

4FCCAF4C 9B33 4154 B193 FD9E51126109

The authorities of the University of Ilorin have announced the promotion of 48 of its academic staff to the rank of Professor as 59 others were elevated to the status of Associate Professor in the latest promotion exercise carried out in the University.

This was announced by the Vice Chancellor of the University, Prof. Wahab Olasupo Egbewole, SAN, on November 30, 2023 at a meeting he held with the new Professors at the University Main Auditorium.

The Vice Chancellor, who is also the Secretary-General of the Association of West African Universities (AWAU), explained that the Minister of Education, Prof. Tahir Mamman, SAN, had, in exercise of his powers, approved the request of the University’s Appointments & Promotion Committee, which culminated in the promotion of the new Professors from their previous positions of Reader/Associate Professor.

The approval of the Minister, according to the Vice Chancellor, was necessitated by the absence of a properly constituted Governing Council for the University, which ought to have discharged the responsibility.

The new Professors, whose promotions were also backdated to October, 2022, include Prof. F. D. Babalola of the Faculty of Agriculture, Prof. O. O. K. Ibrahim of the Faculty of Basic Clinical Sciences, and Prof. O. M. Ameen of the Faculty of Communication and Information Sciences.

Also Read:  Gov Aide, Oyo Speaker, Technocrat Seeks Mentorship for Youths for National Growth

Others include Prof. K. A. Abdullahi, Prof. L. E. Odeh, Prof. J. O. Friday-Otun, Prof. K. A. Rafiu and Prof. R. O. Ogunade,who are all from various Departments of the Faculty of Arts .

The new Professors also include Prof. Z. A. Suleiman, Prof. I. K. Kolawole, Prof. L. O. Omokanye, Prof. A. S. Adeniran, Prof. M. B. Abdulkadir and Prof. A. A. Nasir, all of whom are from the Faculty of Clinical Sciences.

Six new Professors also emerged from the Faculty of Education and they are Prof. Patricia Agnes O. Etejere, Prof. Nafisat A. Adedokun-Shittu, Prof. O. O. Obielodan, Prof. C. O. Olumorin, Prof. MulkahA.Ahmed and Prof.  Hamdallat T. Yusuf.

Those elevated from the Faculty of Engineering are Prof. Temitope E. Odetoye, Prof. J. F. Opadiji, Prof. Nazmat T. Surajudeen-Bakinde, Prof. I. I. Ahmed, Prof. Y. L. Shuaib-Babaita and Prof. S. O. Bilewu while Prof. Abdulateef IyandaBako and Prof. Ganiyu Amuda-Yusuf were elevated from the Faculty of Environmental Sciences.

Those promoted from the Faculty of Law are Prof. B. A. Abdulkadir, Prof. Mariam A. AbdulRaheem-Mustapha and Prof. A. O. Sambo.

From the Faculty of Management Sciences are Prof. KhadijatAdenolaYahaya and Prof. Y. I. Mustapha as Prof. O. D. Owolabi of the Faculty of Life Sciences was also elevated to the prestigious rank.

Also Read:  Saliu Mustapha Foundation partners BBC, Dataphyte, Premium Times to train Kwara-based Online Media

Two lecturers from the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences also benefited from the promotion exercise and they are Prof. A. Giwa and Prof. Rashidat O. Ayanniyi.

From the Faculty of Physical Sciences are Prof. O. M. Ameen, Prof. S. O. Owalude, Prof. O. O. Ige, Prof. S. Olatunji, Prof. Marili F. Zubair, Prof. E. O. Titiloye, Prof. Yidiat O. Aderinto, Prof. A. O. Olawepo and Prof. A. A. Abiodun.

The Faculty of Social Sciences also produced two new Professors through Prof. K. A. Iroye and Prof. L. Saka while Prof. J. O. Aiyedun was promoted from the  Faculty of Veterinary Medicine.

At the meeting he held with them, the Vice Chancellor congratulated the new Professors for attaining the peak of their careers as he expressed confidence in their dignity and competence.

Prof. Egbewole, who noted that their promotions were meritorious and well deserved, commended their dedication to the achievement of the University’s corporate objectives through quality teaching, meaningful research and impactful community services.

The Vice Chancellor encouraged the new Professors not to rest on their oars but also work harder on their responsibilities so as to justify the confidence reposed in them by the authorities of the University and the society at large.

Also Read:  Why Unilorin returned to ASUU 19 years after – VC, Prof Abdulkareem

Speaking on the expectations and challenges ahead of the new Professors, Prof. Egbewole charged them to ensure that they deliver their inaugural lectures within the next twelve months.

Speaking earlier, the Registrar, Mr Mansur AdelekeAlfanla, congratulated the new Professors on their promotion to the pinnacle of the teaching career. He informed them that their promotions would have a retrospective effect from October 1, 2022.

Responding on behalf of the newly promoted Professors,  Prof. Jaiye Opadiji of the Department of Computer Engineering, expressed his profound gratitude to the Vice Chancellor and the University management for their consistent support, which culminated in the accomplishment of their dreams of attaining the peak.

Prof. Opadiji,who said that he and his colleagues were not unaware of the expectations from them, assured the authorities of the University of their continued dedication to the services of the institution and humanity.

He also pledged their determination to intensify efforts towards advancing academic excellence and overall success of the University of Ilorin.

Accurate News Nigeria chat

Kwara Govt Seeks Public Memoranda On Proposed State University of Education

Previous article

Unilorin Reviews School Fees After Meetings With Students Union Representatives

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Education