Nigeria 60 Sports Icon Awards: Sportspro News Publisher commends Minister of Sports

    5176901C 5E9E 4383 94C5 B1153405473B
    5176901C 5E9E 4383 94C5 B1153405473B

    By Yemi Sodeeq

    Publisher and CEO of Sportspro News , Bayour Issah has commended the Minister for Youth and Sports Development,Mr Sunday Dare for recognising the efforts of sports men and women who have made the country proud.

    The award ceremony for 60 Sports personalities which held today at the velodrome of Moshood Abiola National Stadium, Abuja saw the unveiling and celebration of Nigeria’s most oustanding sports icons of the last sixty years.

    He described the development as an unprecedented one in the history of the country and expressed belief that it will inspire more achievements on the part of the athletes going forward.

    Sportspro punlisher pose with Brazilian winger, playing for Kwara United

    “The Minister has opened a new vista in rewarding outstanding performances in all strata of sports. This will remain indelible in the minds of Nigerians”. He said.

    The ace sportscaster however acknowledged particularly, the recognition of late Mazi Ernest Okonkwo, the commentary enigma and Atanda Musa,  former Africa Champion in Table Tennis who is from Kwara State and reigned as  the best player of the game on the continent for 10 years during his active days.

    Not forgetting Rashidi Yekini, the greatest striker the country has ever produced and all other awardees, he noted that the gesture aligns with the country’s National anthem which says” The labour of heroes past shall never be in vain”.

    Some of the notable guests at the event are Engr. Abubakar Aliyu FNSE ,Hon. Minister of State Federal Ministry of Works and Housing ,Otunba Niyi Adebayo(CON) , Hon. Minister of Industry, Trade and Investment,Dr. Senator Adeleke , Hon. Minister of State for Health, Dr. (Mrs.) Ahmed S. Zainab, Hon. Minister of Finance, Budget and National Planning,Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola, Minister of Interior, Sharon Ikpeazor, Minister of State for Environment and Daniel Amokachi, the Senior Special Assistant to the President on Sports.

    Names of the awardees include;

    1. Chioma Ajunwa

    2. Mary Onyali

    3. Jighere Wellington

    4. Odion Aikhoje

    5. Duncan Dokiware

    6. Austin Okocha

    7. Kanu Nwankwo

    8. Feyisetan Are

    9. Blessing Okagbare

    10. Garba Lawal

    11. Lucy Ejike

    12. Falilat Ogunkoya/Atlanta 96 Women’s 4x400m Quartet

    13. Sunday Bada/Sydney 2000 Men’s 4x400m Quartet

    14. Football Dream Team, Atlanta 1996 Olympics

    15. Emmanuel Amunike

    16. Chika Chukwumeriji

    17. Davidson Ezinwa

    18. Odunayo Adekuoroye

    19. Modupe Oshikoya

    20. Peter Konyegwachie

    21. Olusoji Fasuba

    22. Nduka Ugbade/Sebastine Broadricks Emasuen/1985 GOLDEN EAGLETS

    23. Hogan Bassey

    24. Dick Tiger

    25. Samuel Peters

    26. Barcelona 92′ quartet (Men’s 4x100m Relay)

    27. Funke Oshonaike

    28. Segun Odegbami

    29. D’Tigress

    30. Segun Toriola

    31. Roland Ezuruike

    32. Mayegun Nojeem

    33. SAM IGUN

    34. Israel Adesanya

    35. Super Eagles 1994

    36. Olumide Oyedeji

    37. Blessing Oborududu

    38. Tompraba Grikpa

    39. Chidi Imoh

    40. Christian Chukwu

    41. Ajibola Adeoye

    42. Stephen Keshi

    43. Atanda Musa

    44. Muda Lawal/Emmanuel Okala/Green Eagles 1980

    45. Daniel Amokachi

    46. Rashidi Yekini

    47. Teslim Thunder Balogun

    48. Perpetual Nkwocha

    49. Super Falcons

    50. Power Mike

    51. Flora Ugwunwa

    52. Lauretta Onye

    53. Sam Okwaraji

    54. Nduka Odizor

    55. David Izonrite

    56. Chief MKO Abiola

    57. Dr. Larry Izamoje

    58. Mazi. Ernest Okonkwo

    59. Alh. Aliko Dangote

    60. Chief Sir Kesington Adebutu

    Accurate News Nigeria chat

    Traditional Ruler Asks North East Elders to Demands Emergency Rule From President Buhari

    Previous article

    My advice to the #EndSARS protesters – Doyin Okupe

    Next article

    You may also like


    Leave a reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    More in News